Product Placement

Dearest Millicent,

It seems like every ten years or so a story comes out about how we should wash our hair less.  NPR has one up now about how washing hair once a month was the norm in the 1800’s, and that Americans, in their lust to consume, are once again doing something too much to the detriment of the environment, and their scalps.  I remember this same story hitting in the late nineties (also when the heroine chic/bedhead look was thriving).  There was the advice that the less you wash your hair, the less oily it becomes: through diligence one’s scalp would learn to make less grease.   This seemed grand.  After diligent weeks of having greasy hair, my glands would reform, and I would end up looking like I lived in Europe (and could pull off wearing dresses with jeans).  But, my scalp never adapted.  In fact, I do not know anybody with straight hair that ever had such a redemption occur.

But, years later I found Stila’s Jade Blossom Hair Refresher, and the idea of not showering every day became a reality.

Thank you hair powder, you have released me from worrying my oily little head, and the feeling that my pores just would not obey.

I have no idea why I was so compelled to write this.  If the “letting the pores get used to it” thing worked for anybody, please let me know.  Otherwise, go for the powderhead.  It’s fun, too: it makes you go poof!

Yours,

CF

Leave a Reply

