ShudWeNaNoWriMo?

Dear CF and beloved commenters and lurkers,

National Novel-Writing Month. I’m gonna do it, or a variant of it that might start a little earlier. Wanna join me?

Below are the official rules, which we could tweak. For example, I like the starting from scratch idea that doesn’t let me use any previous drafts or notes. I don’t know that I feel compelled to upload the final product to verify the word count, but that may be an irrational reluctance to commit anything with my name attached to it to the internet (I know, I know).

On the other hand, while I resent the cheerleading angle, I could put up with it and sort of like the institutional flavor of the thing that permits crapola to exist. I’m interested in the NaNoWriMo gatherings in different cities where strangers gather to write.

We could post nonthreatening updates, like statistical analyses of our most frequently used words, here.

The Rules as articulated on the site:

  • Write a 50,000-word (or longer!) novel, between November 1 and November 30.
  • Start from scratch. None of your own previously written prose can be included in your NaNoWriMo draft (though outlines, character sketches, and research are all fine, as are citations from other people’s works).
  • Write a novel. We define a novel as a lengthy work of fiction. If you consider the book you’re writing a novel, we consider it a novel too!
  • Be the sole author of your novel. Apart from those citations mentioned two bullet-points up.
  • Write more than one word repeated 50,000 times.
  • Upload your novel for word-count validation to our site between November 25 and November 30.

What say you, CF? Louise? Mrs. B. U-S? RachelB? Zunguzungu? Others?

One Response to ShudWeNaNoWriMo?

  1. Mrs. BU-S says:

    Mrs. BU-S is in

Leave a Reply

