The Incarnation

A lizard, Carla Fran?!! Is this your novel’s spirit animal, your word made flesh? I confess I find the idea of him terribly nice, although I’m sure it’s less poetic to have large lizards actually in a space that’s shared by your feet.

I have no lizards in my house. Some respectable spiders, an ailing basil plant, two dry-bottomed pumpkins, but no lizards. Novelwise, I find I’m averaging 500 words a day or so. I’m a little disappointed but not really. The feeling reminds me of this aquarium when I was a kid that had 32 fish in it. My Uncle Gerald got it for me when he visited from Germany; he got me the aquarium and my mom a blue topaz ring. It was a wonderful present because he bought all 32 fish at once. They did not accrue. It felt really good to pour too much fish food in and watch them go crazy. That’s how this feels. And now I have a blue topaz ring too.

In the creative connection I thought it might be useful to jot down what we are reading (for fun, I mean), in addition to what we are listening to:

Fun Books I Just Read:

  • Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson
  • Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency, Douglas Adams

Fun Books I Am Reading:

  • I Am Not Sidney Poitier, by Percival Everett
  • The Brief and Frightening Reign of Phil, George Saunders

Fun Book I Intend To Read:

  • Gluttony, by Francine Prose

Loaves and fishes, fishes and loaves,

M

Leave a Reply

